Navratri is a major festival of Hindus. Navaratri is also known as Navadurga and Durga Puja Hindus worship Goddess Durga during these ten days and nine nights. The tenth day of Navratri is celebrated as Dussehra. Navaratri is celebrated all over India as it is a main festival for Hindus. Navaratri is celebrated all over India, especially in the northern states. This festival is very popular in Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand.


In most of states, a huge fair is organized in the Shakti temples.

In Navratris people Remains on Fasts.

Before the festival begin, the house is cleaned to welcome the Goddess Durga.

The worshipers keep fast for the entire nine days.

Method of worship: –

Maa Durga is worshiped for nine days in Navratri and the tenth day is celebrated as Dussehra. In these nine days, 8 days fast is kept for Goddess Rani and on the ninth day, this fast is opened by performing Havan and feeding 9 girls.

Mata Rani’s garrison is decorated on the first day of Navratri. Also, water and Ganges water are kept in a vase. Mother Rani is worshiped every day for 9 days. Jyot Batti, Dhup Batti, Agar Batti and Kandi (Upla) are lit in their worship. Ghee is added to the upla and ignited, and long, cardamom, betel nut, goose, prasad and ingredients are offered to the Mother Goddess. After this puja for 8 days, people open their fast on the 9th day after performing this havan and feeding 9 girls.


Any kind of food is prohibited during Navratri fast. During this fast, people can eat fruits in the evening and after the evening worship they can eat any stuff made of Kuttu or Singade flour, potato vegetable (using rock salt and black pepper).

Pudi, vegetables, semolina pudding and black gram are made before opening the fast on Navami. And in the worship of that day, they are offered to Goddess Durga, after that the same food is offered to 9 girls, who are also called all Kanya-Langura. After this whole process, the fast of Navratri opens.


Daywise Worship:-

The first three days of Navratri are the days of Maa Durga.

Hindus worship energy and power on these three days.

Mahalakshmi is worshiped from the fourth to the sixth day.

In these days we pray for happiness, peace and prosperity

The seventh day of Navratri is celebrated for Mother Saraswati.

Hindus worship for knowledge, art and architecture.

On the ninth day of Navratri, Hindus open their fast with the final worship of Mother Durga on Navratri.

The next day Navami (the tenth day of Navratri) is celebrated as Dussehra.


Brahmaji asked Sri Ram to please the goddess by worshiping Chandi Devi for the slaying of Ravana in the Lanka war and a rare one hundred and eight Nilkamal was arranged for Chandi Pujan and Havan. On the other hand, Ravana also started Chandi recitation with the desire of victory in the greed of immortality. Here in the Havan material, a Neelkamal from the place of worship disappeared from the elusive power of Ravana and Shriram’s resolve began to break down.

The fear was that the Mother Goddess should not be angry. The arrangement of the rare Neelkamal was immediately impossible, then Lord Rama readily remembered that I am called ‘Kamalanayan Navakancha Lochan’, so why not offer an eye to fulfill the resolution and as soon as Lord Rama took out an arrow from the wind Ready to take out the eye, Devi reached there, then she holds her hand and says – O Ram, I am happy and blessed Vijayashree. At the same time, in the service of the Brahmins performing the Yagya in the Chandi recitation of Ravana, Hanumanji got involved in the service by taking the form of a Brahmin child. Seeing selfless service, the Brahmins asked Hanumanji to ask for the groom.

On this, Hanuman said politely – Lord, if you are happy, then change one letter of the mantra. The Brahmins could not understand this mystery and said Tathastu. then Lord Hanuman Said:- Please pronounce “K” instead of “H” in the mantra of Jayadevi….. Bhrutiharini. Bhrutiharini means “Destroyer of pains of people“. But Bhrutikarini means “Destroyer of People” . Because of this Devi Chandi got anger and destroy Ravan.

We pray for 9 Forms of Maa Durga in navratri:-

  1. Shailputri
  2. Brahmacharini
  3. Chandraghanta
  4. Kushmanda
  5. Skandmata
  6. Katyayni
  7. Kalratri
  8. Mahagauri
  9. Ram Navmi

Navratri 2020:-

Date of Navratri in 2020:

17- October – 2020 to 24 – October – 2020

Click Here to read Maa Durga Aarti.

Click here to read our other blogs.

Please follow and like us:

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Follow by Email